Holy Days of Obligation

Latin Rite

The Code of Canon Law provides the following general norm for the Latin Rite of the universal Church:
Canon 1246

  1. Sunday is the day on which the paschal mystery is celebrated in light of the apostolic tradition and is to be observed as the foremost holy day of obligation in the universal Church. Also to be observed are the day of the Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, the Epiphany, the Ascension and the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ, Holy Mary Mother of God and her Immaculate Conception and Assumption, Saint Joseph, the Apostles Saints Peter and Paul, and finally, All Saints.
  2. However, the conference of bishops can abolish certain holy days of obligation or transfer them to a Sunday with prior approval of the Apostolic See.

Depending on one’s nation one could have more or fewer than the ten listed in the Code

Holy Days of Obligation in the 2015 Year

  • January 1st (Thursday) – Solemnity of Mary, the Holy Mother of God
  • May 14th (Thursday) – Solemnity of the Ascension of the Lord, this Solemnity is transferred to Sunday, May 17th
  • August 15th (Saturday) – Solemnity of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary [not a Holy day of Obligation
  • because it falls on a Saturday]
  • November 1st (Sunday) – Solemnity of All Saints
  • December 25th (Friday) – Solemnity of the Nativity of the Lord

Click on this link for additional information on the Holy Days of Obligation

Click on this link for additional information on the liturgical year

Click on this link for an online liturgical calendar



Contact Us